Supergirl- Season 6, A Review

Better. Stronger. Together.

Supergirl Season 3 Review. Supergirl Season 4 Review. Supergirl Season 5 Review.

The sixth and final season of Supergirl follows Kara (Melissa Benoist) and ‘The Superfriends’ as they face one final foe whilst also maintaining their personal lives and the struggles that comes with the secret identity. After the fallout from the previous season the team defeat Lex (Jon Cryer), resulting in him banishing Kara to the phantom zone. Working hard to get her back, the superfriends must also stop an invasion of evil phantoms, threatening to take over the city and its people. Eventually Kara is rescued but unfortunately she hasn’t made the return trip alone.

Nyxlygsptlnz AKA Nyxly (Peta Sergeant), a 5th Dimension Imp was once a Princess whose own Father also banished her to the phantom zone, pushing her to seek revenge. Looking to gain absolute power, Nyxly hopes to collect a series of totems, which when brought together will grant her darkest desires. Now it’s a race against time for the superfriends to collect and use the totems, all before Nyxly can get her hands on them. But will they succeed?

As much as I did enjoy season 6 of Supergirl, and I did really enjoy it, it just didn’t feel like a final season in any shape or form. Aside from the final two episodes most of this season felt pretty standard, it was good but it felt more like a second or third season, not the last season we were ever going to see. From Kara being absent for a good chunk of the first half to a rushed ending and an enjoyable yet low stakes villian, season 6 of Supergirl was anything but Super. I was pretty disappointed with it actually.

Speaking of Nyxly, whilst she didn’t feel deserving of being the final big bad, I still really liked her as a character and rank her pretty high in my list of Supergirl villians. I’m a fan of the actress from Once Upon a Time in Wonderland and similarly emjoyed her role here. Nyxly was complex and well written, having an end goal in mind but also having a conscious and somewhat sense of right and wrong as well. Having been betrayed and banished by her family, Nyxly was sympathetic and whilst you didn’t exactly root for her you could understand why she was doing what she was doing. Nearer the end of the season esoecially she looked to be turning of a new leaf (sort of) and I would have really liked to see more of her, I only wish she was introduced earlier in the show’s run.

Kelly’s (Azie Tesfai, Jane the Virgin) storylines and arc was definitely one of the better aspects of this final season and the episode that Azie Tesfai wrote was one of the season’s best. I really enjoy Kelly as a character and loved seeing her become the new Guardian. She was able to fight for the unseen groups and really make a difference, making her a brilliant hero. Her and Alex’s (Chyler Leigh) adoption of Esme (Mila Jones) and eventual marriage was also a series hilight, the wedding was definitely a nice way to end the show overall.

William (Staz Nair) and Andrea (Julie Gonzalo) as characters have always felt a bit overlooked and I think this was especially true in the final season. Ever since they were introduced in season 5 they’ve never really felt part of the main group, with niether ever finding out Kara is Supergirl (at least I don’t think Andrea did? Her ending what a bit unclear). This season it really felt like the writers were forcing them into the story, shoehorning them in in any way they could, which was a bit annoying. Now I’ve never been the biggest fan of William, he’s a bit bland to be honest, but I do like Andrea, if anything she’s an added comic relief, but I do wish we’d gotten more from them. I full on forgot Andrea even had super powers, which just goes to show how little they were used, and if I’m being honest I felt very little when William died. I just wish we’d gotten more from them, it was massively wasted potential.

I know that the show is called Supergirl but for me the Luthors have always been the best part and I’m going to miss the three of them so much. Lena (Katie McGrath, Secret Bridesmaid’s Business) is my absolute favourite arrowverse character to date, her growth and development has just been extraordinary. Jon Cryer also made an amazing Lex, he was comical yet powerful and he added something extra to the show, especially in some of its weaker seasons. In the same way Lillian (Brenda Strong, 13RW) has always been a great part of the show and I loved whenever she returned, her relationship with each child was often interesting to see. Kara Danvers may have been the star of the show but I will always be team Luthor, they’ve been amazing throughout.

Supergirl as a whole really has been an enjoyable show over the past six seasons. It’s definitely had its ups and downs (and the first three seasons were definitely superior to the last three) but it remains to be one of my favourite arrowverse shows. The message of hope and humanity has always been so strong throughout, with Kara being such a shining light and optimistic character. Obviously I’m sad that the show is ending but I’m also glad it got to end on its own terms. I’m definitely going to miss these charaxters- especially Lena, and hope we get to see them again (maybe on Superman & Lois?).

Whilst I did enjoy the sixth season of Supergirl it didn’t really feel like a final season, resulting in a pretty lackluster ending. The season arc and big bad were interesting enough but they just didn’t feel high stakes enough for the show’s finale, it almost felt like a second or third season instead. Still, I’ve loved Supergirl and its characters across the six years and will miss watching the show every week. It hasn’t always been perfect but Supergirl remains to be one of my favourite arrowverse shows.