Sex Education-Season 2, A Review

Messy is normal.

I’ve just named the first season of Sex Education one of my my favourite new watches of 2019 and so it’s safe to say I was excited for season 2. The first season managed to be completely hilarious whilst also looking at real issues and showing the complete awkwardness of high school. Plus the show had some amazing, well written character and relationships. Season 2 couldn’t come soon enough.

The second season sees Otis (Asa Butterfield) now in a happy relationship with girlfriend Ola (Patricia Allison)– whilst also unaware that his mother Jean (Gillian Anderson) is still dating Ola’s father Jakob (Mikael Persbrandt). A new term at school however opens up a world of possibility- especially with the arrival of some new students and characters. Going into the new term, Otis wants to put all of the sex clinic stuff behind him- especially after Maeve’s (Emma Mackey) expulsion. However after a “chlamydia outbreak”- something Otis immediately identifies as simply mass hysteria- Eric (Ncuti Gatwa) convinces Otis to reopen the clinic with hom filling in for Maeve.

Once again Otis is advising the study body on the sexual needs, however things get complicated when Maeve returns and it becomes clear that there is still romantic tension between the two. Otis’ role as the school’s sex therapist also comes under fire when Jean is asked to become the school’s new sexual health counselor, meaning Otis is now competing with his own mother for clients.

With his mixed feelings for Ola and Maeve and the drama that comes with the sex clinic it’s not long before everything spirals out of control. Sex and relationships can be tricky and Otis can barely handle his own, let alone advise others on theirs. Will he finally be able to tell Maeve how he really feels or will everything come crashing down around him?

Once again Sex Education has proven to be a masterclass in comedy. I seriously commend the actors purely for some of the facial expressions that have to pull throughout- the opening montage alone has Otis masturbating repeatadly. Sex Education really captures just how awkard sex can be for teenagers (and adults) and the amount of second hand embarrasment I get from watching is incredible. When I’m watching I don’t know whether to laugh or cringe but all I know is that I love it.

As well as the comedy, Sex Education continues to also look at the important and serious issues surrounding sex and sexuality. Aimee’s (Aimee Lou Wood) story of her sexual assualt was an emotional and powerful one and shows that Sex Education isn’t afraid to tackle the hard issues. Sex Education also showed a vast representation of sexual orientation and it explained them all as well. Ola and Adam as well as some of Jean’s patients all go through a crisis of sexuality and the show sees them go through this and attempt to figure of who they are. The inclusion and explenation of asexuality and pansexuality was great and something I think I’ve only ever seen on Scihtt’s CreekI really loved seeing such a wide range of inclusion on the show.

One thing I loved about season 2 was its wide range of focus on characters, along with obviously the main character we got some focus on some old characters we hadn’t seen much of before. I loved how season 2 focussed more on the adults- Miss Sands (Rakhee Thakrar), Mr Hendricks (Jim Howick) and Adam’s mother Maureen (Samantha Spiro)– and their own sexual problems- showing that it isn’t just the kids who needed help.

I also loved Ruby’s (Mimi Keene) expanded role this season. After her and Otis drunkenly sleep together we see a much nicer side of her beyond what we normally see and even a friendship with Otis- something I need to see more of. I love how Sex Education has completely turned the table on one of its character- making me actually like Ruby now- something I never thought would happen. I love when shows decide to expand the roles of meaner or smaller characters or pair together characters you never thought would match (Alice Cooper in Riverdale, any combination of characters in Legends of Tomorrow, Carla and Samuel in Élite) because you end up loving characters you never thought you would.

Along with the beloved old characters, we also got some great new ones. I loved new characters Viv (Chinenye Ezeudu) and Rahim (Sami Outalbali) (I’m still on the fence about Isaac (George Robinson) though) and thought they were all such great additions to the cast.

Season 2 introduced a lot of new and unexpected character friendships which I absolutely loved. Alongside Otis and Ruby’s friendship I loved Viv and Jackson’s (Kedar Williams-Stirling) friendship. Both pushed each other to be better people and try new things and I thought it was adorable. Ola and Adam (Connor Swindells) also developed a suprising friendship- Adam’s very first friendship- and I just loved how the show managed to pair such opposing characters together and make it work.

I love how Sex Education, a series that was introduced with such an unusual premise, has become such a well written and well represented joy. Yes the show is hilarious but it also tackles important sexual issues and has such a wide range of characters with different sexualities– just like in real life. I certianly didn’t expect this of Sex Education and it truly has defied my expectations.

The second series of Sex Education was just as brilliant as the first, I truly love this show. It’s funny and awkward and heartwarming all at the same time and I love the balance of the comedy and the very real issues. I now prey for a season 3.

7 thoughts on “Sex Education-Season 2, A Review

Leave a comment